Sunday, September 26, 2021

Exclusive New Look At Shin Megami Tensei V’s Special Demons, Secrets, And Difficulty Settings

Shin Megami Tensei V

Publisher: Sega
Developer: Atlus
Platform: Switch

Ever since the big E3 release date announcement at the start of summer, we’ve been providing you with regular check-ins on Shin Megami Tensei V. To this point, we’ve showcased exclusive looks at the cast of characters, demons, and the combat of Shin Megami Tensei V. Today, we’re diving into the world's many secrets, special versions of demons that represent Bethel, and how the difficulty settings work.

As you journey through Da'at, the alternate, post-apocalyptic version of Tokyo, you receive requests and suggestions from various demons you come across. While some ask you to hand over items, others might ask you to take down other demons. Completing the quests rewards you with things like items, Macca (the in-game currency), and EXP.

Click image thumbnails to view larger version



The Shin Megami Tensei series has traditionally had some difficulty spikes, so Atlus is including three difficulty settings at launch, as well as one that will be added as free DLC. At launch, players can choose between Casual (more laid-back gameplay), Normal (for those who want a bit of a challenge), and Hard (for those who want a much bigger challenge).

You can select between those three difficulties at launch, and you can change the difficulty later in the game, but if you switch from Hard to either Normal or Casual, you will not be able to switch back on that save. You can, however, continue to swap between Casual and Normal at any point in your playthrough. After launch, Atlus will release free DLC for a Safety difficulty setting, which is designed to allow anyone (including RPG beginners) to progress through the story comfortably. More information will be announced about this in the near future.

As we covered in a previous story, the protagonist cooperates with Bethel's Tokyo Branch to protect the city from demons. However, as you play, you encounter demons representing Bethel branches from around the globe. From Khonsu and Vasuki (representing Bethel Egypt and Bethel India, respectively) to Zeus and Odin (from Bethel Greece and Bethel North Europe), you interact with a wide array of Bethel-affiliated demons, all with intersecting ambitions and goals that may affect both Tokyo and the protagonist.

Click image thumbnails to view larger version



Of course, Bethel representatives aren't the only demons you encounter. We've said in the past that Shin Megami Tensei V features more than 200 types of demons, including classic designs and new demons. You'll face and negotiate with demons like Idun and Aitvaras, as well as Nuwa. Nuwa works alongside Yakumo and uses part of her power to attack the protagonist. However, it remains to be seen if she'll be an enemy or ally in the long run.

During your journey, you encounter a demon named Amanozako. She accompanies you in your travels and acts as a navigator. She supports you by informing you if there are items nearby or offering up other helpful observations. Other demons can also join you as navigators rather than battle allies. 

Da'at is an expansive world with drastically changing terrain, enemies to face, and various traversal challenges. Leylines allow you to save at various locations throughout Da'at. They also let you visit Cadaver's Hollow, where you can talk to its owner, Gustave, to purchase and sell items you find in Da'at. You should also watch out for Miman, Gustave's pawns that are scattered throughout, Da'at. If you find them and report back to Gustave, you'll receive rewards based on how many you've found. You can earn Glory, which can be spent on powerful abilities called Miracles.

You're also rewarded for your exploration with various discoveries. Vending machines can be found scattered throughout the world, which can be used to get relics. By bringing relics back to Gustave, you can exchange them for Macca. Treasure boxes also fill Da'at, offering Essences, items, and Macca. If you find a silver one (called Amalgams), you'll be rewarded with Glory. Magatsuhi offers you various rewards for collecting them; green heals HP, yellow restores MP, and red raises your Magatsuhi Gauge during battles. Finding and touching demon statues in Da'at raises your allies' levels while taking down Mitamas (rare demons) gives you items you can convert to Macca, EXP, and Glory. Every once in a while, mysterious red structures block your path. These Abscesses are accompanied by powerful enemies nearby, which will attack you. If you can destroy the Abscess, your path will clear, and you earn Glory.

Shin Megami Tensei V comes to Switch on November 12. For more on SMT V, head to our hub by clicking here.

No comments:

Post a Comment